Zeus Lovers

The Sculptor
Top
ZEUS LOVERS, Height: 30 cm, 12 inch, Edition: 50 pieces

The greek sky god ZEUS had easy access to women of the world and took full advantage of it. Also, his power as supreme god made him difficult to resist. The list of his love affairs is impressive and well documented in fine arts. Once, he had set his eye upon Europa.

Europa was the daughter of the King Agenor of Sidon. She had a dream one night in which two continents, which were in the forms of women, were arguing over Europa. Asia maintained that since Europa had been born in Asia she belonged to it. The other continent, which was nameless, said that her birth was not important, and that Zeus would give her to it.

It was early morning and Europa, disturbed by the dream, did not go back to sleep. She summoned her companions, who were all daughters of nobility and her age. It was a beautiful day and they went off gathering flowers by the sea. Zeus noticed this charming group, particularly Europa, who was the prettiest of the maidens.
Zeus appeared to the group as a white bull. A white bull more beautiful then any other. A bull that smelled of flowers, and moved musically. A bull so obviously gentle that all the maidens rushed to stroke and pet it.
The bull laid down in front of Europa. She slid on his back. Instantly, the bull charged off, plunged into the sea, and began to swim rapidly from the shore. Europa saw that a procesion had joined them, Nereids riding dolphins, Triton blowing his horn, even Poseidon. From this she realized that the bull must be a god. She pleaded with him to pity her.
Zeus spoke to her and explained his love. He took her to Crete, where he had been raised. He promised that she would bear him many famous sons. They included Minos I and Rhamadanthus.

ZEUS LOVERS
Height: 30 cm, 12 inch
Edition: 50 pieces

ZEUS LOVERS, Height: 30 cm, 12 inch, Edition: 50 pieces

Europa auf dem Stier

Bildhauer
Nach oben
ZEUS LOVERS, Height: 30 cm, 12 inch, Edition: 50 pieces

Europa auf dem Stier 1998
Höhe: 30 cm, 12 inch
Edition: 50 pieces

Die Geliebte des Zeus

Der griechische Gott des Himmels, ZEUS, hatte es leicht, sich Frauen zu nähern und nützte seine Kraft häufig und leidenschaftlich. Seine Macht als höchster Gott machte ihn unwiderstehlich. Die Liste seiner Liebesgeschichten ist beeindruckend und in der bildenden Kunst umfassend dokumentiert. Eines Tages war sein Auge auf Europa gefallen.

Europa war die Tochter von König Agenor aus Sidon. Ihr träumte eines Nachts von zwei Kontinenten, zwei alten Frauen, die um Europa stritten. Asien bestand darauf, daß Europa, nach dem sie sie geboren hatte, ihr gehörte. Der andere Kontinent, namenlos, sagte, daß dieser Umstand bedeutungslos sei und daß ZEUS sie ihr schenken würde.

Es war früher Morgen, und Europa, erschreckt von ihrem Traum, konnte nicht mehr einschlafen. Sie rief ihre Freundinnen, alles Töchter der vornehmen Familien und Mädchen ihres Alters. Es war ein prachtvoller Tag und sie gingen zum Meer Blumen pflücken. Zeus bemerkte diese reizende Gruppe, und besonders Europa, welche die Schönste unter allen war, gefiel ihm.

Zeus erschien der Gruppe als weißer Stier. Ein weißer Stier, eleganter und stärker, als man ihn je gesehen. Ein Stier, der nach Blumen duftete und sich anmutig bewegte. Ein Stier so offensichtlich zahm und zärtlich, daß die Mädchen liefen, um ihn zu streicheln.
ZEUS LOVERS, Height: 30 cm, 12 inch, Edition: 50 pieces

Der Stier legte sich auf die Wiese, zu Füßen Europas. Sie glitt auf seinen Rücken. In diesem Moment sprang der Stier hoch, lief ins Meer und begann zügig vom Ufer wegzuschwimmen. Europa bemerkte, daß ihnen eine Prozession folgte, Seejungfrauen auf Dolphinen, Triton sein Horn blasend und sogar Poseidon. Daraus schloß sie, daß der Stier ein Gott sein mußte und sie bat ihn um Mitleid.

Zeus sprach zu ihr und erklärte seine Liebe. Er brachte sie nach Kreta, wo er aufgewachsen war. Er versprach ihr, daß sie ihm viele berühmte Söhne gebären würde. Darunter waren auch Minos I und Rhamadanthus.
 
Webmaster

09.08.2000